Published on 5/22/2022

The Arthroscopy Association of North America (AANA) announced its 2022-2023 presidential line and newly elected board members.

James W. Stone, M.D., FAANA has been named AANA President for the 2022-2023 term, followed by John M. Tokish, M.D., FAANA as First Vice President and Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA as Second Vice President.

Dr. Stone is a nationally recognized surgeon and has more than 30 years of experience in orthopaedics. He specializes sports medicine concentrating on knee and shoulder along with foot and ankle arthroscopy at the Orthopedic Institute of Wisconsin and Midwest Orthopedic Specialty Hospital in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  In addition to his numerous guest lectureships, publications, presentations and participation in orthopaedic-related research projects, Milwaukee Magazine and other peer physicians have previously recognized Dr. Stone as a “Top Doctor.”

A United States Air Force Academy graduate, Dr. Tokish is a highly regarded Orthopaedic Surgeon who currently performs arthroscopic shoulder, elbow and knee surgery at Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona. In his current role at Mayo Clinic, Dr. Tokish serves as Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Director of the Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship Program. In addition to these active roles, Dr. Tokish lends his sports medicine expertise as Team Orthopaedic Consultant for the NHL Arizona Coyotes. A leader in military orthopaedics, Dr. Tokish’s numerous accomplishments include establishing the military’s first orthopaedic sports medicine outcomes database and the first sports medicine QCDR in the United States.

Committed to physician education, Dr. Curtis currently serves as a clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery at Tufts University in addition to serving as medical director of the New England Baptist Hospital Bioskills Center. He founded and currently chairs Boston’s annual Sports Medicine Symposium. He continues to contribute his vast knowledge on sports medicine by serving as a team physician for the Boston Celtics, a position he has held since 1994. His dedication to research focused on shoulder disorders, particularly rotator cuff repairs, is reflected in his numerous publications and lectures.

The 2022-2023 Board of Directors slate is listed below:

James W. Stone, M.D., FAANA – President
John M. Tokish, M.D., FAANA – First Vice President
Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA – Second Vice President
John D. Kelly IV, M.D., FAANA – Secretary
Kevin F. Bonner, M.D., FAANA – Treasurer
Mark H. Getelman, FAANA – Immediate Past President
Brian J. Cole, M.D., M.B.A., FAANA – Past President
Mary K. Mulcahey, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Joseph C. Tauro, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Brian R. Waterman, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Ivan H. Wong, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Paul E. Caldwell, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Jason L. Dragoo, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Kevin D. Plancher, M.D., M.P.H., FAANA – Member At-Large is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. displays online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by allowing JavaScript in your browser's settings.