2023-2024 Board of Directors

Published on 5/31/2023


The Arthroscopy Association of North America (AANA) announced its 2023-2024 presidential line and newly elected board members.


John M. Tokish, M.D., FAANA has been named AANA President for the 2023-2024 term, followed by Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA as First Vice President and John D. Kelly IV, M.D., FAANA as Second Vice President.


A U.S. Air Force Academy graduate with over 20 years’ experience in Resident and Fellow education, Dr. Tokish is a highly regarded Orthopaedic Surgeon who performs arthroscopic shoulder, elbow and knee surgery at Mayo Clinic Arizona. In his current role at Mayo Clinic, Dr. Tokish serves as professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, associate chair for Research, director of the Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship Program and medical director of the Arizona Coyotes Hockey Club. He began his orthopaedic career back at the U.S. Air Force Academy where he served 10 years as chief of sports medicine. He then went to Tripler Army Medical Center, Hawaii, where he served as director of their residency program. Just prior to joining Mayo, he was the fellowship director at the Steadman Hawkins Clinic of the Carolinas. A leader in military orthopaedics, Dr. Tokish’s numerous accomplishments include helping to establish the military’s first orthopaedic sports medicine outcomes database and the first sports medicine QCDR in the United States.


Committed to physician education, Dr. Curtis currently serves as a clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery at Tufts University. He founded and currently chairs Boston’s annual Sports Medicine Symposium. He continues to contribute his vast knowledge pertaining to sports medicine by serving as a team physician for the Boston Celtics, a position he has held since 1994. His dedication to research focused on shoulder disorders, particularly rotator cuff repairs, is reflected in his numerous publications and lectures.


Professor of Clinical Orthopaedic Surgery, director of Shoulder Surgery and co-director of the Sports Medicine Fellowship Program are all roles Dr. Kelly currently fulfills at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, in addition to serving as resident stand-up comedian for his colleagues, family and friends. His expertise in shoulder arthroscopy as well as physician wellness has led to dozens of research findings and publications. He has held several prestigious positions throughout his career, most notably being selected as a Best Doctor in America from 2015-2023. His amicable and kind-hearted nature was recognized when he was voted one of America’s Most Compassionate Doctors in 2011.


The 2023-2024 Board of Directors slate is listed below:

  • John M. Tokish, M.D., FAANA – President
  • Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA – First Vice President
  • John D. Kelly IV, M.D., FAANA – Second Vice President
  • Joseph C. Tauro, M.D., FAANA – Secretary
  • Kevin F. Bonner, M.D., FAANA – Treasurer
  • James W. Stone, M.D., FAANA – Immediate Past President
  • Mark H. Getelman, M.D., FAANA – Past President
  • Don A. Buford, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Jason L. Dragoo, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Augustus D. Mazzocca, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Jeanne C. Patzkowski, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large (Under 45)
  • Kevin D. Plancher, M.D., M.P.H., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Brian R. Waterman, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Ivan H. Wong, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
Scroll to top