AANA Announces 2024-2025 Board of Directors

The Arthroscopy Association of North America (AANA) announces its 2024-2025 presidential line and newly elected board members.


Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA has been named AANA President for the 2024-2025 term, followed by John D. Kelly IV, M.D., FAANA as First Vice President and Kevin F. Bonner, M.D., FAANA as Second Vice President.

Committed to physician education, Dr. Curtis currently serves as a clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery at Tufts University. He continues to contribute his vast knowledge pertaining to sports medicine by serving as a team physician for the Boston Celtics, a position he has held since 1994. His dedication to research focused on shoulder disorders, particularly rotator cuff repairs, is reflected in his numerous publications and lectures. Dr. Curtis is an advocate for fostering relationships between surgeons and their care teams, recognizing the pivotal role this connection plays in delivering optimal patient care and achieving superior outcomes. It is that commitment that underscores his efforts to integrate Physician Assistants, Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers into the fabric of AANA Membership.

Professor of Clinical Orthopaedic Surgery, director of Shoulder Surgery and co-director of the Sports Medicine Fellowship Program are all roles Dr. Kelly currently fulfills at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, in addition to serving as resident stand-up comedian for his colleagues, family and friends. His expertise in shoulder arthroscopy as well as physician wellness has led to dozens of research findings and publications. He has held several prestigious positions throughout his career, most notably being selected as a Best Doctor in America from 2015-2023. His amicable and kind-hearted nature was recognized when he was voted one of America’s Most Compassionate Doctors in 2011.

Dr. Bonner specializes in shoulder and knee surgery at the Jordan-Young Institute in Virginia Beach, VA, where he also serves as Director of the Jordan Research Foundation. Additionally, he is a Professor at Eastern Virginia Medical School. With a focus on sports medicine and arthroscopic surgery grounded in the latest scientific evidence, Dr. Bonner is renowned for his commitment to continuous improvement and innovation in orthopaedic surgery, contributing significantly to both education and research. His extensive experience includes training at the Hospital for Special Surgery and serving as Chief of Sports Medicine at Naval Medical Center Portsmouth where he was also the Team Orthopaedic Surgeon for the US Navy SEALs. His dedication has established him as a leading figure in the field of orthopaedics and arthroscopy.

The 2024-2025 Board of Directors slate is listed below:

  • Alan S. Curtis, M.D., FAANA – President
  • John D. Kelly IV, M.D., FAANA – First Vice President
  • Kevin F. Bonner, M.D., FAANA – Second Vice President
  • Joseph C. Tauro, M.D., FAANA – Secretary
  • Jason L. Dragoo, M.D., FAANA – Treasurer
  • John M. Tokish, M.D., FAANA – Immediate Past President
  • James W. Stone, M.D., FAANA – Past President
  • Laura A. Alberton, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Don A. Buford, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Aaron J. Krych, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large (One-year term)
  • Augustus D. Mazzocca, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Michael J. O’Brien, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large
  • Jeanne C. Patzkowski, M.D., FAANA – Member At-Large (Under 45)
  • Kevin D. Plancher, M.D., M.P.H., FAANA – Member At-Large
Scroll to top